You also have the option to require a passcode. Once you hit the Send button, you’ll be prompted to enter a phone number for the recipient that can receive SMS messages. Opening the email requires a code sent to the phone number you entered. This ensures only the intended recipient can open the email even if they’ve left Gmail open for other people to access. Basic instructions are available on Google’s help site.
Opening Messages in Confidential Mode
This feature works best when sending between two users who are both using the new Gmail in a browser. The recipient can access the message right there with no further steps (unless a passcode is required). If you use an email client, will much like it does for users with non-Gmail addresses.
If you send a message in confidential mode to a non-Gmail address, the recipient only receives an email from you with the subject line and a link to view the email in a browser. If the email is associated with a Google account, you’ll be required to log in (non-Gmail addresses can have a Google account). Otherwise, you’ll either be able to view the message, or if a passcode is required, you’ll need to click the “Send Passcode” button to open it.
After a message has been sent, the sender has the option of removing access whether the recipient has read the email or not. Just find the email in Sent folder, and click the link that says “Remove access”. No one will be able to access the message even if the expiration date has not yet passed.
Is The Message Really Gone?
No one seems to be able to determine if the message is actually gone after it expires. Neither the sender nor the recipient can view the message anymore, but Google doesn’t say anything in regards to whether the message is still stored on their servers. Google also doesn’t mention encryption at all in relation to confidential mode. It’s possible that Google still has access to confidential messages and may still be required to comply with providing access if required by warrant. The only response Google has give thus far is “We’re not able to comment on internal procedures.”
At the end of the day, confidential mode is still a useful feature for Gmail users. Not only does it help maintain privacy by limiting how long information is available, but requiring a passcode can also ensure only the intended recipient opens it. It’s definitely a step forward in email privacy.
Email. Privacy. Security. There are a lot of things to be concerned about in regards to your IT solution. Pit Crew IT Services helps each client make sure their organization is compliant with national security standards and best practices. If you need help solving your IT problems, we’re ready and available. Just request a free consultation below.